American Music Awards 2014: Taylor Swift to be honoured with first ever ‘Dick Clark Award’

by Martin
AMAs 2014
Taylor Swift performing at the Victoria's Secret Fashion Show last year

Taylor Swift performing at the Victoria’s Secret Fashion Show last year

The ‘American Music Awards‘ 2014 will take place tomorrow night (November 23rd) – the ceremony will be aired live from the Nokia Theatre in Los Angeles – and Taylor Swift is among the list of performers lined-up for the glittering event.

However, it was confirmed yesterday (21st November) that the ‘Shake It Off’ beauty will also be honoured at the ceremony by being presented with the first-ever ‘Dick Clark Award’.

Surprisingly though, Taylor doesn’t get a mention in the list of nominees for the ‘American Music Awards‘ in any other category, but at least she’s guaranteed to leave with the above-mentioned gong…

The ‘Dick Clark’ award is of course named after the founder of the AMAs, and Taylor has landed the honour due to the fact that her current album ‘1989’ – which is her third release – is topping the charts with more than 1 million copies sold.

Dick Clark was a huge fan of Taylor Swift

Dick Clark was a huge fan of Taylor Swift

Of Taylor landing the award – that is now set to be given annually to other artists who have achieved “a groundbreaking feat or created a landmark work” – Dick Clark’s widow Kari Clark said: “The first time Dick saw Taylor perform, he knew she was something special.

“He would be thrilled to know she’s the first artist to receive the Dick Clark Award for Excellence.”

The ‘American Music Awards’ will air live on ABC, and Taylor will be performing her new single ‘Blank Space’ which currently sits at the top of the Billboard Hot 100 in the US.

The list of nominations were confirmed on the 13th of October, and Australian rapper Iggy Azalea is leading the pack with a total of six nominations.

Pitbull has been announced as the host with Lance Bass, Chelsea Briggs, Kandi Burruss, Gavin DeGraw, Frankie Grande, Taryn Manning and more announced as co-hosts of the pre-show.

Other performers on the night will include 5 Seconds Of Summer, Sam Smith, One Direction, Nicki Minaj, Ariana Grande, Selena Gomez and many, many more.

Iggy Azalea leads the nominations with a total of six.

Iggy Azalea leads the nominations with a total of six.

Will you be watching the AMAs 2014 tomorrow night live on ABC? Let us know who you’re most excited to see perform and check out the official video for ‘Blank Space’ below.