Beyonce surprises fans by announcing & dropping NEW ‘Visual album’ on the same day!

by Nick Barnes


Ever since the announcement came that Beyonce would be heading up the Superbowl HalfTime show back in February, 2013, the Beyhive has been going crazy with speculation as to when Beyonce’s brand new album would be released.

Now, that speculation can STOP as Queen B surprised her fans by announcing AND dropping her brand new ‘Visual album’ on the very same day.

Shortly before midnight (December 12) Beyonce announced that her new album was exclusively available to download on iTunes starting… immediately! We all thought we’d have to wait until the middle of 2014 for some sort of announcement, but nobody does it quite like Beyonce.

The self-titled album, which is just being dubbed as ‘part 1’ of the series features collaborations with Jay-Z, Drake, Frank Ocean and little Blue Ivy is even on there.

Over the past few months, we have seen ‘leaked tracklists’ come and go and none of them have ever been correct. However, on saying that, the rumored ‘XO’ and ‘Ghost’ feature on the album.

Grown Woman, which has been performed on the Mrs Carter Show 2013 world tour is given video treatment but not featured as track in its own right. Plus, one surprise is that ‘Standing on the Sun’ is nowhere to be seen.


It was teased last week that Beyonce’s album would be “monumental” when she drops it… and it is! The album features 14 brand new tracks but along with it comes SEVENTEEN videos – one for each of the tracks and a couple of bonus ones.

Speaking about the release via a video on her Facebook Page, Beyonce said: “I see music. It’s more than just what I hear. When I’m connected to something, I immediately see a visual or a series of images that are tied to feeling or an emotion, a memory from my childhood, thoughts about life, my dreams or my fantasies. And they’re all connected to the music”.

She goes on to say that she misses “the immersive experience” of visually seeing a track. “People only listen to a few seconds of songs on their iPods and they don’t really invest in the whole experience,” she continued “It’s all about the single, and the hype. It’s so much that gets between the music and the art and the fans. I felt like, I don’t want anybody to get the message, when my record is coming out. I just want this to come out when it’s ready and from me to my fans”.

It is thought that iTunes will hold the album exclusively for a 7-day period before the album is released to retail outlets on Saturday, December 21.

However, another thing to note is that two tracks are expected to be announced as lead singles next week, both of which are in “different formats”, according to Billboard.


The track list is as follows:

1. Pretty Hurts
2. Haunted
3. Drunk In Love (feat. Jay Z)
4. Blow
5. No Angel
6. Partition
7. Jealous
8. Rocket
9. Mine (feat. Drake)
10. XO
11. Flawless (feat. Chimamanda Ngozi Adiche)
12. Superpower (feat. Frank Ocean)
13. Heaven
14. Blue (feat. Blue Ivy)

Is everyone happy that B’s album is FINALLY here?