British Soap Awards 2011: Panel shortlist revealed – my thoughts….

After months of viewers being able to vote for their choice in the 6 main categories for this years British Soap Awards, the shortlist of nominations from the panel of judges for the remaining categories has now been released.

BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Craig Gazey, Coronation Street)
Coronation Street: Patti Clare (Mary Taylor)
EastEnders: Tameka Empson (Kim Fox)
Emmerdale: Charlie Hardwick (Val Pollard)
Hollyoaks: Alex Carter (Lee Hunter)

BEST DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Lacey Turner, EastEnders)
Coronation Street: Jane Danson (Leanne Barlow)
EastEnders: Lindsey Coulson (Carol Jackson)
Emmerdale: Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy)
Hollyoaks: Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen)

BEST YOUNG PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Ami Metcalf, Doctors)
Coronation Street: Alexander Bain (Simon Barlow)
EastEnders: Maisie Smith (Tiffany Butcher)
Emmerdale: Eden Taylor Draper (Belle Dingle)
Hollyoaks: Ellis Hollins (Tom Cunningham)

BEST EXIT (Last year’s winner was Charlie Clements, EastEnders)
Coronation Street: Bill Tarmey (Jack Duckworth)
EastEnders: Lacey Turner (Stacey Branning)
Emmerdale: Andy Devine (Shadrach Dingle)
Hollyoaks: Carley Stenson (Steph Roach)

BEST NEWCOMER (Last year’s winner was Marc Elliott, EastEnders)
Coronation Street: Paula Lane (Kylie Turner)
EastEnders: Ricky Norwood (Arthur ‘Fatboy’ Chubb)
Emmerdale: Pauline Quirke (Hazel Rhodes)
Hollyoaks: Emmett J. Scanlan (Brendan Brady)

BEST ON-SCREEN PARTNERSHIP (Last year’s winners were Jan Pearson and Christopher Walker, Doctors)
Coronation Street: Katherine Kelly and Simon Gregson (Becky and Steve McDonald)
EastEnders: Jessie Wallace and Shane Richie (Kat and Alfie Moon)
Emmerdale: Emma Atkins and Jeff Hordley (Charity Tate and Cain Dingle)
Hollyoaks: Emmett J. Scanlan and Kieron Richardson (Brendan Brady and Ste Hay)

BEST STORYLINE (Last year’s winner was ‘Who Killed Archie?’, EastEnders)
Coronation Street: End of the line for the Websters and Dobbs
Doctors: Karen’s abortion
EastEnders: Ronnie swaps her baby for Kat’s
Emmerdale: Holly’s drug addiction

SPECTACULAR SCENE OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was The Parachute Jump, Hollyoaks
Coronation Street: The Tram Crash
EastEnders: The Queen Vic Fire
Emmerdale: The Train Crash
Hollyoaks: The Lift Shaft

BEST SINGLE EPISODE (Last year’s winner was EastEnders Live)
Coronation Street: Coronation Street Live
Doctors: August 23rd
EastEnders: Billie’s Death
Emmerdale: The Betrayed

The winners of the ‘Lifetime Achievement’ and ‘Special Achievement’ Awards will be revealed on the night.

It is great to see Charlie Hardwick (Val Pollard) up for best comedy performance, she is consistently great and in character in every episode, and has grown to be as iconic a cast member as her on screen husband, Eric.

With Queen of the soaps, Lacey Turner (Stacy Slater) no longer available to scoop every award, it leaves certain categories open to a new race, and for dramatic performance, we are personally hoping that Danny Miller (Emmerdale’s Aaron Livesy) grabs the hat-trick (he is also shortlisted for both sexiest male and best actor in the viewers choice awards), as he has been far too long without the recognition he deserves for the amazing transformation of a teenage thug to a sensitive but confused young homosexual man. His acting ability has shone through every scene, and has produced more tears than any other character in soap land.

Of course, when it comes to best exit, Lacey Turner is almost certain to walk away with the award, not because she deserves it, but because these panel members seem to be creatures of habit, and like the popular kids at school, they always go with a crowd pleasing option. It would be lovely, however to see the likes of Emmerdale’s Andy Divine (Shadrach Dingle) be recognised for a truly humble, tragic and very sad departure, with standing ovations deserved for all those took part in his exit scenes.

I was very surprised to see the baby swap storyline nominated in Best Storyline category, but not as surprised as I was to see how all the other nominations for that category had been so diluted down in order to ensure a win for what many would argue is the most inappropriate and disturbing storyline soap land has ever seen. Although the acting involved has been very good, especially when you consider the controversy surrounding everyone involved, the storyline itself should not be encouraged, in my opinion.

It is very good to see that the Coronation Street live episode is nominated for best single episode, as far as episodes go, it was head and shoulders above anything I have recently seen on our screens, including the Eastenders live episode, which was half the time, contained less characters and scene changes, and several mistakes by the actors (not to mention it filled in 5 minutes of Ian and Dot watching TV).

It is nice to see the Emmerdale crash nominated for Spectacular Scene of the year, especially given the effort, both at the time and dealing with the consequences there after, all have put into this. Marc Silcock’s (Jackson Walsh) performance was outstanding, and it is hard to believe this is the only award he is up for this year.

Finally, voting is still open for the 6 viewer choice awards:

Keith Duffy (Ciaran McCarthy, Coronation Street)
Chris Fountain (Tommy Duckworth, Coronation Street)
Scott Maslen (Jack Branning, EastEnders)
Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, Emmerdale)

Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre, Coronation Street)
Alison King (Carla Connor, Coronation Street)
Rita Simons (Roxy Mitchell, EastEnders)
Jennifer Metcalfe (Mercedes McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Kate Ford (Tracy Barlow, Coronation Street)
Charlie Brooks (Janine Malloy, EastEnders)
Don Gilet (Lucas Johnson, EastEnders)
Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady, Hollyoaks)

Chris Gascoyne (Peter Barlow, Coronation Street)
Shane Richie (Alfie Moon, EastEnders)
Danny Miller (Aaron Livesy, Emmerdale)
Emmett J. Scanlan (Brendan Brady, Hollyoaks)

Katherine Kelly (Becky McDonald, Coronation Street)
Jessie Wallace (Kat Moon, EastEnders)
Jane Cox (Lisa Dingle, Emmerdale)
Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen, Hollyoaks)

Coronation Street

You can vote up to 5 times on the same email address at

The Awards ceremony will take place on Saturday May 14 in Manchester.