British Soap Awards 2013: Why Coronation Street should win big this year!

by Anna Howell


It is that time of year again, time to cast your vote in this year’s British Soap Awards as the six categories open to the general public have revealed their short list nominations.

The British Soap Awards, due to take place next month, is your chance to voice your appreciation for your favourite actresses and actors in the world of the Great British Soap Opera.

This year see’s the usual suspects, but also offers the opportunity to give some departing stars the best send-off possible, for awarding them for their part.

Up for Sexiest Female for the fifth consecutive year, Michelle Keegan, we are sure, would love to take this award home even more this year than the previous five years she has won it, as she has just announced her decision to quit the hit ITV soap.

Michelle is also up for Best Actress which, after the year she has just had on the show, comes as no surprise.

tina mcintyre, Coronation Street

Currently pregnant with a surrogate child for her friends Gary (Mikey North) and Izzy Armstrong Cherylee Houston), Keegan’s Corrie character, Tina McIntyre has more than been through the mill this year what with her doomed relationship with Tommy Duckworth (Chris Fountain) and their run in with dangerous loan sharks.

tyrone dobbs, kirsty soames, coronation street

Up for Villain of the year and Best Actor are former on-screen couple Natalie Gumede and Alana Halsall, who play Kirsty Soames and Tyrone Dobbs.

kirsty, tyrone, coronation street 2

Natalie is up for Best Villain after her harrowing portrayal of Kirsty Soames who put Tyrone through months of torment as she showered him with domestic abuse. Now safely behind bars, we think that Natalie is very well deserving of this prestigious award.
As is her former co-star Alana Halsall.

Alan’s heartfelt and emotional portrayal of Tyrone during this dramatic and horrific storyline has proved him as more than a superb actor, with his performance reaching out to hundreds of men and women in similar situations – if that doesn’t deserve an awards, we don’t know what does!


Finally as with every soap, Coronation Street is up for the top prize of Best Soap. It has been an epic and dramatic year for the iconic Street with affairs, breakups and violence, but it was the recent Rovers Return fire which claimed two lives which makes this nomination particularly deserved.

But, the final vote is down to you… If you think that Corrie should take home any of these awards, then click here!
The full list of shortlisted nominations are as follows:

SEXIEST MALE (Last year’s winner was Scott Maslen – EastEnders)

Coronation Street: Chris Fountain (Tommy Duckworth)

EastEnders: David Witts (Joey Branning)

Emmerdale: Matthew Wolfenden (David Metcalfe)

Hollyoaks: Danny Mac (Dodger Savage)

Hollyoaks: Kieron Richardson (Ste Hay)

SEXIEST FEMALE (Last year’s winner was Michelle Keegan – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Georgia May Foote (Katy Armstrong)

Coronation Street: Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre)

EastEnders: Jacqueline Jossa (Lauren Branning)

Emmerdale: Natalie Anderson (Alicia Metcalfe)

Hollyoaks: Jorgie Porter (Theresa McQueen)

VILLAIN OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was Andrew Lancel -Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Natalie Gumede (Kirsty Soames)

Coronation Street: Nigel Havers (Lewis Archer)

EastEnders: Jamie Foreman (Derek Branning)

Emmerdale: Dominic Power (Cameron Murray)

Hollyoaks: Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady)

BEST ACTOR (Last year’s winner was Danny Miller – Emmerdale)

Coronation Street: Alan Halsall (Tyrone Dobbs)

EastEnders: Nitin Ganatra (Masood Ahmed)

EastEnders: Shane Richie (Alfie moon)

Emmerdale: Jeff Hordley (Cain Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady)

BEST ACTRESS (Last year’s winner was Alison King – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre)

Coronation Street: Jennie McAlpine (Fiz Stape)

EastEnders: Nina Wadia (Zainab Khan)

EastEnders: Jessie Wallace (Kat Moon)

Hollyoaks: Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen)

BEST BRITISH SOAP (Last year’s winner was EastEnders)

Coronation Street

The Final Five Panel Nominations

BEST COMEDY PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Stephanie Cole – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Patti Clare (Mary Taylor)

Doctors: Ian Kelsey (Howard Bellamy)

EastEnders: Ricky Norwood (Arthur ‘Fatboy’ Chubb)

Emmerdale: Dominic Brunt (Paddy Kirk)

Hollyoaks: Nicole Barber-Lane (Myra McQueen)

BEST DRAMATIC PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Jo Joyner – EastEnders)

Coronation Street: Natalie Gumede (Kirsty Soames)

Doctors: Dido Miles (Dr. Emma Reid)

EastEnders: Jo Joyner (Tanya Cross)

Emmerdale: Lucy Pargeter (Chas Spencer)

Hollyoaks: Claire Cooper (Jacqui McQueen)

BEST YOUNG PERFORMANCE (Last year’s winner was Lorna Fitzgerald – Eastenders)

Coronation Street: Ellie Leach (Faye Windass)

EastEnders: Maisie Smith (Tiffany Butcher)

Emmerdale: Eden Taylor-Draper (Belle Dingle)

Hollyoaks: Ellis Hollins (Tom Osborne)

BEST EXIT (Last year’s winner was Katherine Kelly – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Nigel Havers (Lewis Archer)

Doctors: Lu Corfield (Dr. Freya Wilson)

EastEnders: Jamie Foreman (Derek Branning)

Emmerdale: Tom Lister (Carl King)

Hollyoaks: Emmett J Scanlan (Brendan Brady)

BEST NEWCOMER (Last year’s winner was Natalie Gumede – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Marc Baylis (Rob Donovan)

Doctors: Ian Midlane (Dr. Al Haskey)

EastEnders: Khali Best (Dexter Hartman)

Emmerdale: Laura Norton (Kerry Wyatt)

Hollyoaks: Joseph Thompson (Dr. Paul Browning)

BEST ON-SCREEN PARTNERSHIP (Last year’s winner was Jo Joyner & Jake Wood – Eastenders)

Coronation Street: Jennie McAlpine & Alan Halsall

(Fiz Stape & Tyrone Dobbs)

Doctors: Matthew Chambers & Elisabeth Dermot Walsh

(Dr. Daniel Granger & Dr. Zara Carmichael)

EastEnders: Nitin Ganatra & Nina Wadia

(Masood Ahmed & Zainab Khan)

Emmerdale: Lucy Pargeter & Dominic Power

(Chas Spencer & Cameron Murray)

Hollyoaks: Emmett J Scanlan & Kieron Richardson

(Brendan Brady & Ste Hay)

BEST STORYLINE (Last year’s winner was Jackson’s Choice – Emmerdale)

Coronation Street: Kirsty’s Abuse of Tyrone

Doctors: Sam’s Assisted Suicide

EastEnders: The Demise of Derek Branning

Emmerdale: Zak’s Depression

Hollyoaks: Esther’s Bullying

SPECTACULAR SCENE OF THE YEAR (Last year’s winner was John & Moira’s car accident – Emmerdale)

Coronation Street: The Rovers Fire

Doctors: Julia’s Car Crash

EastEnders: The Olympic Torch Comes Live to Walford

Emmerdale: Cain’s Clifftop Rescue of Zak

Hollyoaks: The Bus Crash

BEST SINGLE EPISODE (Last year’s winner was Becky’s final farewell – Coronation Street)

Coronation Street: Kirsty’s Treachery ends in Tyrone’s Arrest

Doctors: The Scales – Sam’s Assisted Suicide

EastEnders: The Identity of Kat’s Lover is Revealed

Emmerdale: Emmerdale 40th Anniversary – Live Episode

Hollyoaks: The Bus Crash

To be announced on the night: