Calvin Harris snubbed by Rihanna? He spills

by Martin

Calvin Harris Summer 3

Scottish DJ and producer Calvin Harris has released his new album ‘Motion’ today (November 3rd) and it features a number of huge tracks, with a whole host of collaborators including Alesso, John Newman and Ellie Goulding.

There had been some reports of late that one of Cal’s new tracks would also be featured on Rihanna’s next record, however he’s denied the claims in a new interview. It seems eh did submit some tunes for consideration, but since he has never heard back from RiRi’s team, it looks unlikely that he’ll be named on the finished product.

You’ll remember that Calvin and Rihanna worked together on their huge hit ‘We Found Love’ which was lifted from Calvin’s last album ’18 Months’.

Unfortunately though, the DJ has confirmed that Rihanna won’t be returning the favour and featuring one of his tracks on her new album.


Speaking to The Sun the popular artist explained: “No, I’m not on the Rihanna album. I did a few things for it but they don’t get back to you. There are a lot of people involved!”

“She listens to everything – I know that – but she’s got a strong idea and identity and an idea of what her album should sound like.” the producer explained.

“It’s not like they put me on ‘We Found Love’ because I’m signed to Roc, they did it because it’s a f**king good song”

The producer concluded with: “But it’s OK because I’m working on my stuff and it’s going fine so I’m not concerned about it.”

The artwork for Calvin Harris' new album 'Motion'

The artwork for Calvin Harris’ new album ‘Motion’

The full tracklisting for Calvin’s eighth studio album ‘Motion’ is as follows.

1. Faith
2. Under Control (w/ Alesso Feat. Hurts)
3. Blame (feat. John Newman)
4. Love Now (feat. All About She)
5. Slow Acid
6. Outside (feat. Ellie Goulding)
7. It Was You (w/ Firebeatz)
8. Summer
9. Overdrive (w/ Ummet Ozcan)
10. Ecstacy (feat. Hurts)
11. Pray To God (feat. Haim)
12. Open Wide (feat. Big Sean)
13. Together (feat. Gwen Stefani)
14. Burnin (w/ R3hab)
15. Dollar Signs (feat. Tinashe)

Have you got your copy of the new release? What do you think? Does it have the potential to be another smash for Calvin or are you not convinced yet?

Check out the official music video for ‘Blame’ which is lifted from the new release and features British singer John Newman.