Doctor Who, Brodchurch & Hollyoaks pick up gongs at TRIC Awards (FULL WINNERS LIST)

by Anna Howell
doctor who matt smith 2

doctor who matt smith 2

This week saw Doctor Who pick up the award for HD Drama Programme of the Year at the annual TRIC awards held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel.

The hugely popular BBC sci-fi series beat the likes of Downton Abbey and Call The Midwife for the award (sponsored by SES), which was accepted by Neve McIntosh and Dan Starkey amongst other members of the crew.

The award for Crime Programme of the Year (sponsored by AXA Assistance) went to the smash hit ITV detective series Broadchurch, starring Olivia Coleman and David Tennant, which beat fierce competitors Luther and Silent Witness for the gong!

The award for TV Soap of the Year went to Coronation Street, and was picked up by cast members Bruno Langley (Todd Grimshaw), Tisha Merry (Steph Britton), Georgia May Foote (Katy Armstrong) and Charlie Condou (Marcus Dent) – But Soap Personality of the Year went to Hollyoaks star Ashley Taylor-Dawson!

Taylor-Dawson, who plays local landlord Darren Osborne in the hit Channel 4 soap couldn’t believe his luck, and took to social networking site, Twitter, to express his delight to fans, tweeting:

“Officially shocked! Thank you to TRIC and everyone who made this happen!”


Taylor-Dawson beat the likes of Coronation Street favourites, Julie Hesmondhalgh (Hayley Cropper) and Michelle Keegan (Tina McIntyre), for the gong (sponsored by Blomberg), making this the first TRIC award Hollyoaks has picked up since 2010, when Ricky Whittle picked up the same award.

Amongst the other winners were Celebrity Juice, Ant & Dec and Dancing On Ice – who picked up the TRIC Special Award Sponsored by Domestic & General – See the full list of winners below:

Satellite/Digital TV Personality Sponsored by SES
Peter Andre

Digital Radio Personality Sponsored by ROBERTS RADIO
Emma Bunton

Weather Presenter Sponsored by Sharp
Carol Kirkwood

Sports Presenter Sponsored by Domestic & General
Gabby Logan

News Presenter/Reporter Sponsored by Panasonic
Susanna Reid

TV Personality of the Year Sponsored by Arqiva
Ant and Dec

Soap Personality Sponsored by Blomberg
Ashley Taylor Dawson (Hollyoaks Darren Osborne)

Reality Programme Sponsored by Castelan Group
Strictly Come Dancing

Factual Programme Sponsored by STMicroelectronics
Paul O’Grady – For the Love of Dogs

HD Drama Programme of the Year Sponsored by SES
Doctor Who

Digital Radio Programme Sponsored by Pure
The Chris Evans Breakfast Show

Daytime Programme Sponsored by The Warranty Group
This Morning


Crime Programme of the Year Sponsored by AXA Assistance

Entertainment Programme Sponsored by SONY

Satellite/Digital Programme Sponsored by Humax
Celebrity Juice

TV Soap of the Year Sponsored by Star Plus
Coronation Street

TRIC Special Award Sponsored by Domestic & General
Dancing on Ice