Eminem and Rihanna prevent One Direction topping the singles chart

by Martin


Earlier in the week we reported on the Official Singles Chart mid week update and revealed that One Direction looked set to top the charts with their new single ‘Story of My Life’.

According to the data released by the Official Charts Company earlier this evening it seems like Eminem and Rihanna have stopped the British boy band from scoring their fourth UK number 1.

Eminem and Rihanna only released ‘The Monster’ (Number 1) on Tuesday and despite having a 48 hour disadvantage over everyone else this week they’ve managed to overtake One Direction and their new single ‘Story of My Life’ (Number 4).

‘The Monster’ is taken from Eminem’s eighth studio album ‘The Marshall Mathers LP 2’ which is released tomorrow and the track gives Rihanna and Eminem their seventh UK number 1 single.


‘Royals’ by 16 year old New Zealander Lorde (above) was last week’s number 1 and falls just one place into Number (2) this week while ‘Eat Sleep Rave Repeat’ by legendary DJ Fat Boy Slim debuts on the Official Singles Chart at Number (3).

One Direction and ‘Story of My Life’ finishes this week at Number (4) while ‘Counting Stars’ by OneRepublic completes the Top 5 this week.

Taking a look at new entries this week the Official Charts Company reports that Tinie Tempah has narrowly missed out on entering the Top 5 this week with his latest single ‘Children Of The Sun’ which features John Martin.

The track only managed to reach Number (6) this week and is lifted from his second album ‘Demonstration’ (released tomorrow).

Tinie Tempah

Behind Tinie Tempah this week is boy band The Wanted with their new single ‘Show Me Love (America) which is at Number (8) and is taken from their new album ‘Word Of Mouth’ which is also released tomorrow.

Foxes who recently worked with Rudimental on their hit ‘Right Here’ have scored a Top 20 single of their own with ‘Youth’ which is on the Official Singles Chart at Number (12).

New entries on this weeks Official Singles Chart are completed by ‘Recovery’ by Justin Bieber – Number (28) and ‘Toy Boy’ by new boyband M.A.D (Michael Sutthakorn, Aiden Hancock and Dan Lewis) which is at Number (37).