National Television Awards 2010

The 15th National Television Awards

The biggest event in the TV calendar, the National Television Awards, returns to ITV1 on Wednesday 20th January from 7.30pm, as this year’s 15th anniversary ceremony welcomes a new presenter at a brand new venue.

TV favourite Dermot O’Leary takes the reigns as host, presiding over the best known stars and most popular shows on the small screen as they battle it out to win TV’s top gongs. The action also shifts to the mammoth O2 Arena, for an evening of high drama and red carpet glamour.

The star studded ceremony is unique as the only television awards determined solely by the viewers, in a huge nationwide poll, with voting lines now open until 20th January.

The viewers can pick their winners from across eleven categories, which include the hotly contested Most Popular Talent and Most Popular Serial Drama. While X Factor goes head to head with its twinkle toed rivals at Strictly Come Dancing in the Talent category, EastEnders and Coronation Street go to war in a bid to be crowned the number one soap opera in Serial Drama.

Dynamic double act Ant and Dec lead the trophy charge with three nominations, as the Geordie duo vie to grab their ninth consecutive Most Popular Entertainment Presenter award. Ant and Dec’s Saturday Night Takeaway and I’m A Celebrity…Get Me Out Of Here are also nominated in the Most Popular Entertainment Programme band.

A new category on the night is Star Travel Documentary, dedicated to famous faces who have abandoned their comfort zones and traveled far and wide over the last twelve months. Nominees here include TV veterans Joanna Lumley (In The Land Of The Northern Lights) and Stephen Fry (for In America).

The spectacular 15th anniversary National Television Awards promises to be the biggest and best yet, as the stars of the small screen gather to celebrate twelve months of TV triumphs – the drama unfolds live from the O2, on Wednesday 20th January from 7.30pm.