See full list of this year’s NTA nominations, plus how to vote and get tickets to watch live!

Soap fans will be pleased to hear that Coronation Street has four nominations in a variety of categories for this year’s National Television Awards, one of which is for Chris Fountain, who plays Tommy Duckworth, in the category of Best Newcomer.

We have the full list of nominations and details of how you can vote after the jump.

EastEnders has three nominations this year, with Jacqueline Jossa going up against Chris Fountain for the award of Best Newcomer for her portrayal of boozy teen Lauren Branning.

Emmerdale also has three nominations, with Danny Miller in the running for an award for his performances as Aaron Livesy…

In drama, Doctor Who, Downton Abbey, Merlin and Waterloo Road are all nominated for awards, while the category for Drama Performance Male includes nominations for actors John Barrowman, who stars in Doctor Who spin-off Torchwood, Doc Martin star Martin Clunes and Shameless star David Threlfall.

In Comedy, Miranda series two is nominated, as is Benidorm and Outnumbered, and in the Entertainment Presenter Category, Keith Lemon goes head to head with Ant and Dec, Michael McIntyre and Dermot O’Leary.

Here’s the shortlist of nominees for the National Television Awards 2012, which will be held in London on January 25…

Talent show

1 Britain’s Got Talent
2 Dancing On Ice
3 Strictly Come Dancing
4 The X Factor

Comedy panel show

1 Celebrity Juice
2 Have I Got News For You
3 Mock The Week
4 QI


1 Doctor Who
2 Downton Abbey
3 Merlin
4 Waterloo Road

Drama performance male

1 John Barrowman, Torchwood
2 Martin Clunes, Doc Martin
3 Matt Smith, Doctor Who
4 David Threlfall, Shameless

Talk show

1 Alan Carr: Chatty Man
2 Loose Women
3 The Graham Norton Show
4 The Jonathan Ross Show

Drama performance female

1 Karen Gillan, Doctor Who
2 Jaye Jacobs, Waterloo Road
3 Suranne Jones, Scott & Bailey
4 Eve Myles, Torchwood

Factual programme

1 An Idiot Abroad
2 Big Fat Gypsy Weddings
3 This Morning
4 Top Gear

Situation comedy

1 Benidorm
2 Miranda
3 Outnumbered

Serial drama

1 Coronation Street
2 EastEnders
3 Emmerdale
4 Hollyoaks

Serial drama performance

1 Katherine Kelly, Coronation Street
2 Alison King, Coronation Street
3 Danny Miller, Emmerdale
4 Jessie Wallace, EastEnders

Reality programme

1 Come Dine With Me
2 I’m A Celebrity… Get Me Out Of Here!
3 The Apprentice
4 The Only Way Is Essex


1 Chris Fountain, Coronation Street
2 Chelsea Halfpenny, Emmerdale
3 Jacqueline Jossa, EastEnders

Entertainment presenter

1 Ant & Dec
2 Keith Lemon
3 Michael McIntyre
4 Dermot O’Leary

Entertainment programme

1 Dynamo: Magician Impossible
2 Harry Hill’s TV Burp
3 Michael McIntyre’s Comedy Roadshow
4 Take Me Out

To vote for free, visit the NTA’s website here,  Voting opens today and closes at noon on January 25, 2012.

And if you’d like to be in the audience for the ceremony at London’s O2 Arena – which as mentioned takes place on Wednesday January 25 – you can click here to book tickets.


Lynn is an editor and writer here at Unreality TV and is trained psychotherapist and the author of two books. She's addicted to soaps, period drama and reality TV shows such as X Factor, I'm A Celeb and Big Brother.