Sherlock and Downton Abbey receive nomination’s at the PGA (Producers Guild of America) Awards!

Comments Off
January 3rd, 2013 by Anna Howell
Tweet about this on Twitter2Share on Facebook2Share on Google+0Email this to someone

Phenomenon British detective series, Sherlock, has been nominated in the Television category at the Producers Guild of America Awards (PGA).

The show, written by the genius that is Steven Moffat and starring Brit superstar, Bennedict Cumberbatch in the title role, will go up against US blockbusters in the TV industry such as American Horror Story, Homeland Game Change, The Dust Bowl and Hatfields & McCoys for the David L Wolper Award, which is presented to outstanding producers of long-form television.

Homeland will also face another British sensation, iconic ITV period drama, Downton Abbey as well as Breaking Bad, Game of Thrones and Mad Men for the Norman Felton Award, dedicated to outstanding episodic drama.

The Big Bang Theory, Curb Your Enthusiasm, 30 Rock, Louie and Modern Family will all battle it out for the Danny Thomas Award for episodic comedy.

The full list of television nominees for the 2013 Producers Guild of America Awards is as follows:

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television

American Horror Story (Brad Buecker, Dante Di Loreto, Brad Falchuk, Ryan Murphy, Chip Vucelich, Alexis Martin Woodall)
The Dust Bowl (Ken Burns, Dayton Duncan, Julie Dunfey)
Game Change (Gary Goetzman, Tom Hanks, Jay Roach, Amy Sayres, Steven Shareshian, Danny Strong)
Hatfields & McCoys (Barry Berg, Kevin Costner, Darrell Fetty, Leslie Greif, Herb Nanas)
Sherlock (Mark Gatiss, Steven Moffat, Beryl Vertue, Sue Vertue)

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama

Breaking Bad (Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett)
Downton Abbey (Julian Fellowes, Gareth Neame, Liz Trubridge)
Game of Thrones (David Benioff, Bernadette Caulfield, Frank Doelger, Carolyn Strauss, DB Weiss)
Homeland (Henry Bromell, Alexander Cary, Michael Cuesta, Alex Gansa, Howard Gordon, Chip Johannessen, Michael Klick, Meredith Stiehm)
Mad Men (Jon Hamm, Scott Hornbacher, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Victor Levin, Blake McCormick, Matthew Weiner)

The Danny Thomas Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Comedy

30 Rock (Irene Burns, Kay Cannon, Robert Carlock, Vali Chandrasekaran, Luke Del Tredici, Tina Fey, Matt Hubbard, Marci Klein, Jerry Kupfer, Lorne Michaels, David Miner, Dylan Morgan, Jeff Richmond, John Riggi, Josh Siegal, Ron Weiner)
The Big Bang Theory (Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro, Faye Oshima Belyeu, Bill Prady)
Curb Your Enthusiasm (Alec Berg, Larry Charles, Larry David, Jeff Garlin, Tim Gibbons, David Mandel, Erin O’Malley, Jeff Schaffer, Laura Streicher)
Louie (Dave Becky, M Blair Breard, Louis CK)
Modern Family (Cindy Chupack, Paul Corrigan, Abraham Higginbotham, Ben Karlin, Steven Levitan, Christopher Lloyd, Jeff Morton, Dan O’Shannon, Jeffrey Richman, Chris Smirnoff, Brad Walsh, Bill Wrubel, Danny Zuker)

Outstanding Producer of Non-Fiction Television

American Masters (Prudence Glass, Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks)
Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations (Anthony Bourdain, Christopher Collins, Lydia Tenaglia, Sandy Zweig)
Deadliest Catch (Thom Beers, Jeff Conroy, Sean Dash, John Gray, Sheila McCormack, Bill Pruitt, Decker Watson)
Inside the Actors Studio (James Lipton, Shawn Tesser, Jeff Wurtz)
Shark Tank (Rhett Bachner, Becky Blitz, Mark Burnett, Bill Gaudsmith, Yun Lingner, Brien Meagher, Clay Newbill, Jim Roush, Laura Skowlund, Paul Sutera, Patrick Wood)

Outstanding Producer of Live Entertainment & Talk Television

The Colbert Report (Meredith Bennett, Stephen Colbert, Richard Dahm, Paul Dinello, Barry Julien, Matt Lappin, Emily Lazar, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart)
Jimmy Kimmel Live! (David Craig, Ken Crosby, Doug DeLuca, Erin Irwin, Jimmy Kimmel, Jill Leiderman, Jason Schrift, Jennifer Sharron)
Late Night with Jimmy Fallon (Hillary Hunn, Lorne Michaels, Gavin Purcell, Michael Shoemaker)
Real Time with Bill Maher (Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Dean Johnsen, Bill Maher, Billy Martin)
Saturday Night Live (Ken Aymong, Steve Higgins, Erik Kenward, Lorne Michaels, John Mulaney)

Outstanding Producer of Competition Television

The Amazing Race (Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram van Munster, Mark Vertullo)
Dancing with the Stars (Ashley Edens Shaffer, Conrad Green, Joe Sungkur)
Project Runway (Jane Cha Cutler, Desiree Gruber, Tim Gunn, Heidi Klum, Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Colleen Sands)
Top Chef (Daniel Cutforth, Casey Kriley, Jane Lipsitz, Dan Murphy, Nan Strait)
The Voice (Stijn Bakkers, Mark Burnett, John De Mol, Chad Hines, Lee Metzger, Audrey Morrissey, Jim Roush, Nicolle Yaron, Mike Yurchuk, Amanda Zucker

The following programs were not vetted for producer eligibility this year, but winners in these categories will be announced at the official ceremony on January 26

Outstanding Sports Programme

24/7 (HBO)
Catching Hell (ESPN)
The Fight Game with Jim Lampley (HBO)
On Freddie Roach (HBO)
Real Sports with Bryant Gumbel (HBO)

Outstanding Children’s Programme

Good Luck Charlie (Disney Channel)
iCarly (Nickelodeon)
Phineas and Ferb (Disney Channel)
Sesame Street (PBS)
The Weight of the Nation for Kids: The Great Cafeteria Takeover (HBO)

Outstanding Digital Series

30 Rock: The Webisodes (
Bravo’s Top Chef: Last Chance Kitchen (
Dexter Early Cuts: All in the Family (
The Guild (
H+ The Digital Series ( vs Blue (

Red vs Blue (

The PGA Awards are due to take place on  January 26 2013.

Sherlock and Downton Abbey receive nomination’s at the PGA (Producers Guild of America) Awards!
0 votes, 0.00 avg. rating (0% score)
Tweet about this on Twitter2Share on Facebook2Share on Google+0Email this to someone